Soupe aux Pois Jaune

Cooking in Sens

IMG_0174b

I’ve always been fascinated with French Canadian cuisine.  In fact I have a cookbook somewhere from the famous Au Pied de Cochon restaurant in Montreal.  I’ve never been to Montreal but it’s on my list.  In the meantime, in would be nice to find that cookbook.

IMG_0100b

My impression of French Canadian food is that it is a hearty, farmers’ fare for the cold climate, yet sophisticated, having it’s roots in French cuisine.  My inspiration for this soup comes from the website, Canadian Living.  The recipe called for yellow split peas. Although I badgered M. Parret into driving me around to every store in town, I couldn’t find yellow split peas nor yellow lentils.  I found “coral” lentils which turn yellow when cooked, so that was okay 🙂

IMG_0096b

This is a very easy soup to make with all the usual suspects; onion, garlic, bay leaf, celery, carrots and smoked pork.  This…

View original post 274 more words

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

